Contact: (417) 868-4074 (option #5)
The Traffic division is comprised of eleven employees, each holding various responsibilities in processing traffic cases. Job duties within the division include, but are not limited to: Case Initiations (opening the case), Pleadings (documents filed by parties), Dispositions (judgment), Records Requests/Copies, and License Suspensions. The Traffic Division is responsible for different types of tickets and for processing those cases from beginning to end: Greene County Traffic Bureau and Fine Collection Center tickets.
When you were issued your traffic ticket a court date was provided by the officer. It is always advisable to check prior to that court date to ensure your ticket has been filed with the courts. You may access Case.net and search by litigant name. First, select the 31st Judicial Circuit from the field titled "Search For Cases In" and enter your name as shown on your ticket. Next, in the field "Year Case was Filed", enter the year your ticket was issued and then click "Find". If you cannot locate your case, please contact our office at 417-868-4074 (option #4). If you do not have access to Case.net, please feel free to call our office at the above number.
Greene County Traffic Bureau (GCTB) Tickets
The first type of ticket is the Greene County Traffic Bureau (GCTB) cases. These tickets are typically issued by the Greene County Sheriff, and may or may not require a court appearance. Minor infractions such as seat belt tickets, failure to display plates and lower speeding tickets can be paid through the Circuit Clerk’s office without appearing in court. The Deputy Sheriff will give you a list of the charges that gives the fines and court costs for those charges. A court date will be written on the ticket. If you fail to pay your ticket on or before the court date, a warrant will be issued for your arrest and you will have to appear before a judge. If the ticket is for an appearance required charge, you will need to appear on your court date. At that time, you can enter a plea of Guilty or Not Guilty. If you plead guilty, the judge will normally assess fines and costs at that time. If you plead not guilty, the Judge will set the case for hearing at a later date and you will have to appear on the hearing date. Again, if you fail to appear, a warrant will be issued for your arrest.
If a driver pleads guilty to a moving violation by paying all fines and costs to the Greene County Traffic Bureau and completes DIP within 60 days of the guilty plea, no points are assessed on a Missouri driver's license. However, if the driver has a commercial driver's license (CDL) or is driving a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV), the driver is not eligible to use DIP.
You can obtain a list of approved DIP courses and Motorcycle Rider Courses from the Missouri Safety Center online or by calling (800) 801-3588 or (660) 543-4081. View information online for Motorcycle Rider Courses or call (660) 543-4834.
Greene County Traffic Bureau
Schedule of Fines and Costs
Greene County Traffic Bureau Tickets: $80.50 if paid prior to court date
$90.50 if you appear in court
$86.50 if you appear in court and ticket is amended by the court to a no-point infraction
Other Traffic Tickets: $90.50
$86.50 if ticket is amended by the court to a no-point infraction
Lower Misdemeanor Costs: $113.50
Higher Misdemeanor Costs: $138.50
Circuit Felony Costs if lowered
by the court to a misdemeanor $138.50
Circuit Felony Costs: $279.50
Please note these are basic court costs. Additional costs may be assessed for witness fees, law enforcement recoupment costs, drug testing, etc.
***Fines are assessed separately and in addition to court costs.
If you are issued only one ticket, please pay the amount shown in the total column for that violation.
Speeding 11-15 miles over limit fine — $114.50
Court costs — $80.50
Total due — $195.00
If you are issued more than one ticket after a stop, you will only pay one court cost no matter how many violations, but will pay fines for each violation.
Speeding 11-15 miles over limit fine — $114.50
No valid plate fine — $14.50
Court costs — $80.50
Total due — $209.50
Fine Collection Center Tickets
The Traffic Division is responsible for tickets issued by the Missouri State Highway Patrol (or other law enforcement agencies) for which you either pled not guilty or failed to pay the fine to the Fine Collection Center within 30 days. These tickets are classified as “TR” cases and all are appearance required. In both of these instances, the ticket will be forwarded to the Greene County Prosecuting Attorney, the charge will be filed and a case initiated by our office. You will receive a summons in the mail giving you the date and time to appear in court on the ticket.
To enter a Not Guilty Plea, you must sign the back of the ticket where indicated and return it to the Fine Collection Center within 30 days of receiving the ticket. If you follow this procedure, your driver’s license should not be suspended while awaiting your court appearance. If you fail to appear on the court date specified, a warrant will be issued for your arrest and your driver’s license will be suspended for failure to appear.
If you fail to pay the ticket or enter a not guilty plea within 30 days of receiving the ticket, the same procedure outlined above is followed. However, your driver’s license will be suspended by the FCC, and will not be reinstated until you appear in court on the charges.
Greene County Associate Court Tickets
There are also tickets that are issued by the Missouri Highway Patrol, Greene County Sheriff or other law enforcement agency that are “appearance required” tickets. This means you must appear in court in order to take care of this type of ticket. There will be a court date and time listed on the ticket. If your case is filed by the prosecuting attorney’s office prior to the court date shown on the ticket, you must come to court on that date. If you fail to appear on the date scheduled, a warrant may be issued for your arrest.
If the charges are not filed prior to the court date shown on the ticket, a summons will be mailed to you giving you a new date and time to appear in court. This summons will be mailed to the address shown on your ticket. If your address has changed, you will need to contact the prosecuting attorney’s office at (417)868-4061 to provide them with your current mailing address. Again, if you fail to appear on the date scheduled, a warrant may be issued for your arrest.
Court Clerks are prohibited from giving legal advice pursuant to Supreme Court, Operating Rule 25.
To request a copy from a case click here.